Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Board of PetroSA


Frans Baleni (60) 

BA(UJ), Board of Directors Certificate (Inst. for Management Development), Project and   Infrastructure Finance Programme( London Business School)

Mr. Frans Baleni has served in  Boards of companies in various sectors including Mining, Energy and Education. These include  Development Bank of South Africa (DBSA), Rand Mutual Bank and Eskom, amongst others. He  held various positions within the National Union of Mineworkers(NUM) and served as its Secretary General between 2006 and 2015. Mr. Baleni  has also served as the Chairman of the Mineworkers Investment Trust. He was a United Democratic Front activist and later involved in the negotiations at the  Convention for a Democratic South Africa (CODESA) 

Mthozami Xiphu (63) 

BA, B Juris, MA.

​Mr. Xiphu is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the South African Oil and Gas Alliance (SAOGA). He was the Chief Executive Officer of Petroleum Agency SA (PASA) from 2005 until 2012. He served as Director: Legal Services for the then Department of Minerals and Energy (DME) between 2001 and 2005 and as an Assistant Director: Legal Services for the then Western District Municipality (1996-2001). Mr Xiphu also served in the PetroSA Interim Board from 5 July 2017 to 17 October 2019.  

Bongi Masinga (52) 

BCom (UNISA) USA-SA Leadership and Entrepreneurship Programme (Wharton School of Business) 

Ms. Masinga is one of the founding members of the Afropulse Group. She was also the  Chief Operating Officer (COO) and Head of Corporate Advisory Services at Quartile Capital. Ms. Masinga has also held various positions in  the financial service for companies such as  DBSA and Gensec. She has merchant banking experience from working at Hill Samuel in London. She currently 

serves on the Boards of  Bidvest Ltd, Libstar Ltd, and MerSETA, and an Independent Trustee of Petra Diamonds. Ms. Masinga  is also a Council  Member of the Durban University of Technology.

Solomzi Tshiki (57)

B.Soc.Sc (Natal) , Honors in Business Administration (Stellenbosch University)

Mr. Tshiki is a founding member of the Grand Parade Investment. He has worked in Human Resource for various corporates including Engen Petroleum Ltd.  He started an HR consulting company “Solly Tshiki and Associates” when . He is a non-executive director at Garies Consolidated Holdings, Black Equity and Motivity Mr. Tshiki has completed Business Process Re-engineering and other management programs at Universities of Frankfort Order and Antwerp as modules towards HBA

Dr. Len Konar (65)

Dr Len Konar is a Chartered Accountant. He is a former Professor and Head of the Department of Accountancy at the then University of Durban – Westville. He has also served as an  executive director of the Independent Development Trust. Dr. Konar is a member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance, the Corporate Governance Forum, the Institute of Directors and the National Association of Corporate Directors (USA). He has served as a non-executive director  of a number of JS- listed  companies and has also chaired or served on the Audit Committees of some of the Boards. He currently serves as a non-executive director of the Guardrisk group of companies. He is also a supervisor/ of MBA/Ph.D candidates at South African local universities.

Leon Haywood (65)

BSc (Hons Geology, University of Pretoria; MBL, UNISA)  

Mr. Leon Haywood has worked for Shell in South Africa and London for more than 20 years, involved in distribution, planning, pricing and supply & trading.  He spent in Latin America and Africa developing business for Masefield and Addax/Oryx, and another seven years working as Managing Director Litasco Middle East responsible for Middle East and Africa. Mr. Haywood has extensive knowledge of crude and product trading in Middle East and Africa. He is a Senior Associate Consultant ( Channoil Consulting Limited.) Supply and trading expert (Africa and Middle East).

Llewellyn Delport (57)

BSc (Chem Eng)(UCT); MBA(GSB – UCT); Executive Development Programme(Ashridge Business School – London)

In 36 years Llewellyn Delport served multinational mining companies in South Africa, Namibia, Angola, England and Canada. Twenty years were spent as General Manager, Managing Director or Chief Executive Officer.

Ms. Nomagcisa Tsipa-Sipoyo

Ms. Nomagcisa Tsipa-Sipoyo holds a B. Iuris degree (Unitra ,now WSU) and ND-Road Transport Management (UJ).  

She has worked as Senior Consultant at UCT’s Centre for Conflict Resolution, National Transformation Manager at Arcus Gibb Engineering Consultancy. Later she took up Directorship in Greenspace Investments (PTY) Ltd, West Coast Petroleum ,and Isanqa Resourcing investment companies. Ms. Tsipa-Sipoyo also served as a panelist for IMMSA. She is currently completing LLB through UNISA and a PGD (Management Practice) with Henley Business School.​