Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Mossel Bay, South Africa.

The 2014 PetroSA Marathon, one of the Southern Cape’s premier race meetings, is proving to be a popular choice with athletes and is attracting top competitors from across South Africa and beyond. 

The 12th edition of the PetroSA Marathon will be hosted in Mossel Bay on Saturday 27 September 2014. The race boasts a prize purse of R500 000. Race organisers expect more than 1000 athletes to compete for the R60 000 winners cash prizes in the 42km, 21km and 10km races.

International athletes who have already confirmed their attendance to the marathon include Kenya’s David Barmasai Tumo, winner of the 2011 Dubai Marathon. He also represented Kenya at the 2011 World Marathon Championships in Deagu, South Korea. Tumo is also a Boston Marathon top 10 finisher.

Eritrea's Ghirmay Tikabo, an IAAF Bronze Label Athlete, who achieved position three in the 2013 PetroSA Marathon, is back to compete at the race. The winner of the 2011 Cape Town Marathon, Amos Maiyo Maindi of Kenya, has also confirmed his attendance.

The race has also been bolstered by confirmation that South African Olympic marathon runner Irvette van Zyl has also signed up to run the race. Van Zyl is a winner of various races in South Africa. She also represented South Africa at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London. She has clocked top 10 finishes in various races that include the London Marathon, Two Oceans Half Marathon and New York City Half Marathon, among others.  In August she won the Mandela Day Marathon in Pietermaritzburg in a time 19 minutes faster than the course record.

Jenna Challenor, a South African IAAF Bronze Label athlete, will be making her debut at the PetroSA Marathon. The Durban-based athlete recently came second in the Mandela Day 21km race. She is a previous winner of the Pietermaritzburg SPAR Weekend Witness Ladies 10km race. 

Comrades Marathon gold medalist, Prodigal Khumalo will also race the PetroSA Marathon. Khumalo, of Zimbabwe, was 9th at the 2014 Comrades Marathon and has won at every distance from 3000m track to Marathon distance.

A host of other athletes from countries such as Tanzania, Ethiopia, Lesotho and local top performers such as LJ van Zyl, Lindile Tokota and Lloyd Bosman have also entered the race.

The PetroSA Marathon has recently also received accreditation from the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) and Association for International Marathon Standards (AIMS). The accreditation means athletes can use the PetroSA Marathon as a stage to qualify for other international race meetings.


For more information, please contact:
Thabo Mabaso
Group Communications Manager

Cell: +27-83-414-8144
Tel: +27-21-929-3365